PepLabo Download

Foundayo vs Zepbound: a tablet every day, an injection every week

Both come from Eli Lilly and both are labelled in the US for long-term weight reduction. One is a tablet taken every day, the other an injection given once a week, and they contain different ingredients.

Published · Updated · Written by the PepLabo editorial team

What is the same

Both are from Eli Lilly, both are labelled for long-term weight reduction with diet and physical activity in adults with obesity or overweight plus a weight-related condition, neither is established in children, and both carry a boxed warning about thyroid C-cell tumors [1][2].

What differs

  • Form and rhythm: a tablet once a day (Foundayo™) versus an injection once a week (Zepbound®).
  • Food: Foundayo™ is taken with or without food, swallowed whole, no more than one tablet a day [1]. It has no empty-stomach rule like the oral semaglutide tablets.
  • Storage: Foundayo™ stays at room temperature; Zepbound® is refrigerated, with a limited time allowed outside the fridge [1][2].
  • Other uses: Zepbound® is also labelled for moderate to severe obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity [2].
  • Interactions: the Foundayo™ label changes its use alongside certain other medicines that affect the liver enzyme CYP3A4 (sections 2.2 and 7) [1].
  • Birth-control pills: both US labels point pill users to a method that is not swallowed, or an added barrier, after starting and after each step up — for 30 days with Foundayo™ and 4 weeks with Zepbound® [1][2].

Side by side, from the labels

From the current US Prescribing Information and the EMA product pages. Dose steps are named by label section, not repeated.
Label itemFoundayo™ (tablet)Zepbound®
Active ingredientOrforglipron, a GLP-1 receptor agonist, by mouthTirzepatide, a GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist
MakerEli Lilly and CompanyEli Lilly and Company
FDA-approved usesWith diet and physical activity: long-term weight reduction in adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related condition. Not established in children. [1]With diet and physical activity: long-term weight reduction in adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related condition; moderate to severe obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity. Not established in children. [2]
How it is takenOnce a day by mouth, with or without food, swallowed whole; no more than one tablet a day.Once a week, under the skin of the abdomen or thigh, or the back of the upper arm, at any time of day.
Forms in the USTablets in six strengths, bottles of 30 with a desiccant (section 3). First US approval: 2026.Single-dose pens, single-dose vials, multi-dose vials and the KwikPen® (four doses per pen) (section 3).
Dose stepsSection 2.1 of the label: a low starting dose raised after at least 30 days at each step. Section 2.2 changes the steps when certain other medicines are used. Not repeated here; your prescriber sets your steps. [1]Sections 2.1–2.2 of the label: a starting dose that is not a maintenance dose, raised in steps of at least 4 weeks, then a maintenance dose that depends on the use. Not repeated here; your prescriber sets your steps. [2]
Half-life (section 12.3)About 29 to 49 hours [1]About 5 days (5 to 6 days in people with overweight or obesity) [2]
Most common side effects (label)Nausea, constipation, diarrhea, vomiting, indigestion, abdominal pain, headache, bloating, fatigue, burping, reflux, gas, hair loss.Nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, abdominal pain, indigestion, injection-site reactions, fatigue, allergic reactions, burping, hair loss, reflux.
Storage (label)Room temperature (20–25 °C), in the supplied bottle.Refrigerated (2–8 °C). Single-dose pens and vials may be kept unrefrigerated up to 30 °C for a total of 21 days. Multi-dose vials and KwikPens® are discarded 30 days after first use or after 4 doses.
Boxed warningYes: risk of thyroid C-cell tumors. The label explains the rodent findings come from other GLP-1 products, because orforglipron is not active in rats or mice.Yes: risk of thyroid C-cell tumors.
In the EU (EMA)Not yet authorised: EMA’s committee gave a positive opinion on 15 October 2026 for obesity and type 2 diabetes in adults (EMA list checked 20 October 2026). [3]Not a separate EU product: in the EU, tirzepatide for weight management is authorised under the Mounjaro® name. [4]

Timing facts from the labels

Each label’s own numbers from section 12.3 and section 2. These are timing facts, not a switching schedule, and they do not turn one dose into another.
Label itemFoundayo™ (tablet)Zepbound®
Half-life (section 12.3)About 29 to 49 hours [1]About 5 days (5 to 6 days in people with overweight or obesity) [2]
Time to peak level (section 12.3)4 to 8 hours after a tablet [1]About 24 hours (8 to 72) after a dose [2]
Steady state (section 12.3)After about 1 week of daily tablets [1]After 4 weeks of weekly doses [2]
After the last dose (section 12.3)Not stated in the label [1]Not stated in the label [2]
Missed dose (section 2)Taken as soon as possible without doubling the next one; after 7 or more missed in a row, the label restarts the steps lower (section 2.3) [1]Taken within 4 days (96 hours); after that, skipped (section 2.3) [2]
Section on switchingNone [1]None [2]

Using them together

The Foundayo™ label says use with another GLP-1 receptor agonist is not recommended [1]. The Zepbound® label says the same about other tirzepatide products and any GLP-1 receptor agonist [2].

Moving between them, in either direction

Neither the Foundayo™ (tablet) label nor the Zepbound® label sets out a schedule for moving from one to the other [1][2]. The timing facts above describe each medicine on its own; they are not a plan for a change. If a switch comes up, in whichever direction, the gap, the first dose of the new medicine and its steps are set by your prescriber.

Ozempic®, Wegovy®, Rybelsus®, Saxenda®, Victoza® and FlexTouch® are registered trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro®, Zepbound® and KwikPen® are registered trademarks owned or licensed by Eli Lilly and Company; Foundayo™ is a trademark of Eli Lilly and Company. PepLabo is not affiliated with or endorsed by these companies.

Questions

Is Foundayo a pill version of Zepbound?

No. Foundayo™ contains orforglipron and Zepbound® contains tirzepatide. They are different medicines from the same company, with separate labels [1][2].

Does Foundayo need an empty stomach?

Its US label says it can be taken once a day with or without food, swallowed whole [1]. Your prescriber or pharmacist can explain how that fits your other medicines.

Can PepLabo log a daily tablet and a weekly injection?

Yes. Programs can run daily or weekly, with reminders, and tablets and injections can both be logged. PepLabo does not suggest the medicine or the dose.

Set up your lab tonight.

It takes a few minutes. Pep will be waiting.