PepLabo Download

Foundayo vs tirzepatide: one brand against one ingredient

Foundayo™ is a brand name; tirzepatide is an ingredient sold under two brands. This page sets Foundayo™ beside both tirzepatide labels, Mounjaro® and Zepbound®.

Published · Updated · Written by the PepLabo editorial team

Brand and ingredient

A label is written for a brand, not for an ingredient. Orforglipron is sold in the US only as Foundayo™ [1]; tirzepatide carries two brand names, Mounjaro® for type 2 diabetes and Zepbound® for weight reduction and obstructive sleep apnea [2][3]. In the EU, tirzepatide covers both uses under the Mounjaro® name [5].

What differs

  • Ingredient: orforglipron (GLP-1 receptor agonist) versus tirzepatide (GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist) [1][2].
  • Form: tablets once a day with or without food, versus injections once a week in pens, vials or a KwikPen® [1][2].
  • Storage: room temperature for the tablets; refrigeration for tirzepatide, with a limited time allowed outside the fridge [1][2].
  • Children: tirzepatide as Mounjaro® is labelled for children 10 and older with type 2 diabetes; Foundayo™ and Zepbound® are not established in children [2][1][3].

Side by side, from the labels

From the current US Prescribing Information and the EMA product pages. Dose steps are named by label section, not repeated.
Label itemFoundayo™ (tablet)Mounjaro®Zepbound®
Active ingredientOrforglipron, a GLP-1 receptor agonist, by mouthTirzepatide, a GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonistTirzepatide, a GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist
MakerEli Lilly and CompanyEli Lilly and CompanyEli Lilly and Company
FDA-approved usesWith diet and physical activity: long-term weight reduction in adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related condition. Not established in children. [1]Blood sugar control in adults and children 10 and older with type 2 diabetes, alongside diet and exercise; lowering the risk of major cardiovascular events in adults with type 2 diabetes who are at high risk. [2]With diet and physical activity: long-term weight reduction in adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related condition; moderate to severe obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity. Not established in children. [3]
How it is takenOnce a day by mouth, with or without food, swallowed whole; no more than one tablet a day.Once a week, under the skin of the abdomen or thigh, or the back of the upper arm, at any time of day.Once a week, under the skin of the abdomen or thigh, or the back of the upper arm, at any time of day.
Forms in the USTablets in six strengths, bottles of 30 with a desiccant (section 3). First US approval: 2026.Single-dose pens, single-dose vials, multi-dose vials and the KwikPen® (four doses per pen) (section 3).Single-dose pens, single-dose vials, multi-dose vials and the KwikPen® (four doses per pen) (section 3).
Dose stepsSection 2.1 of the label: a low starting dose raised after at least 30 days at each step. Section 2.2 changes the steps when certain other medicines are used. Not repeated here; your prescriber sets your steps. [1]Section 2.1 of the label: a low starting dose, raised in steps of at least 4 weeks if more blood sugar control is needed. Not repeated here; your prescriber sets your steps. [2]Sections 2.1–2.2 of the label: a starting dose that is not a maintenance dose, raised in steps of at least 4 weeks, then a maintenance dose that depends on the use. Not repeated here; your prescriber sets your steps. [3]
Half-life (section 12.3)About 29 to 49 hours [1]About 5 days [2]About 5 days (5 to 6 days in people with overweight or obesity) [3]
Most common side effects (label)Nausea, constipation, diarrhea, vomiting, indigestion, abdominal pain, headache, bloating, fatigue, burping, reflux, gas, hair loss.Nausea, diarrhea, decreased appetite, vomiting, constipation, indigestion, abdominal pain.Nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, abdominal pain, indigestion, injection-site reactions, fatigue, allergic reactions, burping, hair loss, reflux.
Storage (label)Room temperature (20–25 °C), in the supplied bottle.Refrigerated (2–8 °C). Single-dose pens and vials may be kept unrefrigerated up to 30 °C for a total of 21 days. Multi-dose vials and KwikPens® are discarded 30 days after first use or after 4 doses.Refrigerated (2–8 °C). Single-dose pens and vials may be kept unrefrigerated up to 30 °C for a total of 21 days. Multi-dose vials and KwikPens® are discarded 30 days after first use or after 4 doses.
Boxed warningYes: risk of thyroid C-cell tumors. The label explains the rodent findings come from other GLP-1 products, because orforglipron is not active in rats or mice.Yes: risk of thyroid C-cell tumors.Yes: risk of thyroid C-cell tumors.
In the EU (EMA)Not yet authorised: EMA’s committee gave a positive opinion on 15 October 2026 for obesity and type 2 diabetes in adults (EMA list checked 20 October 2026). [4]Authorised since 2022 for type 2 diabetes (age 10 and older) and for weight management in adults. Zepbound® is not a separate EU product. [5]Not a separate EU product: in the EU, tirzepatide for weight management is authorised under the Mounjaro® name. [5]

Timing facts from the labels

Each label’s own numbers from section 12.3 and section 2. These are timing facts, not a switching schedule, and they do not turn one dose into another.
Label itemFoundayo™ (tablet)Mounjaro®Zepbound®
Half-life (section 12.3)About 29 to 49 hours [1]About 5 days [2]About 5 days (5 to 6 days in people with overweight or obesity) [3]
Time to peak level (section 12.3)4 to 8 hours after a tablet [1]8 to 72 hours after a dose [2]About 24 hours (8 to 72) after a dose [3]
Steady state (section 12.3)After about 1 week of daily tablets [1]After 4 weeks of weekly doses [2]After 4 weeks of weekly doses [3]
After the last dose (section 12.3)Not stated in the label [1]Not stated in the label [2]Not stated in the label [3]
Missed dose (section 2)Taken as soon as possible without doubling the next one; after 7 or more missed in a row, the label restarts the steps lower (section 2.3) [1]Taken within 4 days (96 hours); after that, skipped (section 2.1) [2]Taken within 4 days (96 hours); after that, skipped (section 2.3) [3]
Section on switchingNone [1]None [2]None [3]

Using them together

The Foundayo™ label says use with another GLP-1 receptor agonist is not recommended [1], and the Zepbound® label says the same [3].

Moving between them, in either direction

None of the three labels sets out a schedule for moving between orforglipron and tirzepatide [1][2][3]. Each lists its own starting dose and steps for people starting it. If a change comes up, the gap and the first dose are set by your prescriber.

Ozempic®, Wegovy®, Rybelsus®, Saxenda®, Victoza® and FlexTouch® are registered trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro®, Zepbound® and KwikPen® are registered trademarks owned or licensed by Eli Lilly and Company; Foundayo™ is a trademark of Eli Lilly and Company. PepLabo is not affiliated with or endorsed by these companies.

Questions

Is Foundayo tirzepatide?

No. Foundayo™ contains orforglipron. Tirzepatide is the ingredient of Mounjaro® and Zepbound® [1][2][3].

Is there a tirzepatide tablet?

Not among the current US labels: Mounjaro® and Zepbound® are injections. Foundayo™ is a tablet, but it contains orforglipron [1][2][3].

Set up your lab tonight.

It takes a few minutes. Pep will be waiting.