PepLabo Download

Mounjaro vs Zepbound: same tirzepatide, different approvals

Both are Eli Lilly’s tirzepatide, in the same forms. In the US the difference is the approved use written on each label.

Published · Updated · Written by the PepLabo editorial team

What is the same

Same active ingredient, same maker, same four forms (single-dose pen, single-dose vial, multi-dose vial, KwikPen®), same storage rules and the same boxed warning [1][2].

What differs

  • Approved uses: type 2 diabetes for Mounjaro®; weight reduction and obstructive sleep apnea for Zepbound® [1][2].
  • Age: Mounjaro® is labelled for children 10 and older with type 2 diabetes; Zepbound® is not established in children.
  • Dose steps: the Zepbound® label separates a starting dose from maintenance doses; the Mounjaro® label describes increases for blood sugar control. Both are in section 2.
  • Using with other medicines: the Zepbound® label says combining it with other tirzepatide products or any GLP-1 receptor agonist is not recommended [2].

Side by side, from the labels

From the current US Prescribing Information and the EMA product pages. Dose steps are named by label section, not repeated.
Label itemMounjaro®Zepbound®
Active ingredientTirzepatide, a GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonistTirzepatide, a GIP and GLP-1 receptor agonist
MakerEli Lilly and CompanyEli Lilly and Company
FDA-approved usesBlood sugar control in adults and children 10 and older with type 2 diabetes, alongside diet and exercise; lowering the risk of major cardiovascular events in adults with type 2 diabetes who are at high risk. [1]With diet and physical activity: long-term weight reduction in adults with obesity, or overweight plus a weight-related condition; moderate to severe obstructive sleep apnea in adults with obesity. Not established in children. [2]
How it is takenOnce a week, under the skin of the abdomen or thigh, or the back of the upper arm, at any time of day.Once a week, under the skin of the abdomen or thigh, or the back of the upper arm, at any time of day.
Forms in the USSingle-dose pens, single-dose vials, multi-dose vials and the KwikPen® (four doses per pen) (section 3).Single-dose pens, single-dose vials, multi-dose vials and the KwikPen® (four doses per pen) (section 3).
Dose stepsSection 2.1 of the label: a low starting dose, raised in steps of at least 4 weeks if more blood sugar control is needed. Not repeated here; your prescriber sets your steps. [1]Sections 2.1–2.2 of the label: a starting dose that is not a maintenance dose, raised in steps of at least 4 weeks, then a maintenance dose that depends on the use. Not repeated here; your prescriber sets your steps. [2]
Half-life (section 12.3)About 5 days [1]About 5 days (5 to 6 days in people with overweight or obesity) [2]
Most common side effects (label)Nausea, diarrhea, decreased appetite, vomiting, constipation, indigestion, abdominal pain.Nausea, diarrhea, vomiting, constipation, abdominal pain, indigestion, injection-site reactions, fatigue, allergic reactions, burping, hair loss, reflux.
Storage (label)Refrigerated (2–8 °C). Single-dose pens and vials may be kept unrefrigerated up to 30 °C for a total of 21 days. Multi-dose vials and KwikPens® are discarded 30 days after first use or after 4 doses.Refrigerated (2–8 °C). Single-dose pens and vials may be kept unrefrigerated up to 30 °C for a total of 21 days. Multi-dose vials and KwikPens® are discarded 30 days after first use or after 4 doses.
Boxed warningYes: risk of thyroid C-cell tumors.Yes: risk of thyroid C-cell tumors.
In the EU (EMA)Authorised since 2022 for type 2 diabetes (age 10 and older) and for weight management in adults. Zepbound® is not a separate EU product. [3]Not a separate EU product: in the EU, tirzepatide for weight management is authorised under the Mounjaro® name. [3]

Timing facts from the labels

Each label’s own numbers from section 12.3 and section 2. These are timing facts, not a switching schedule, and they do not turn one dose into another.
Label itemMounjaro®Zepbound®
Half-life (section 12.3)About 5 days [1]About 5 days (5 to 6 days in people with overweight or obesity) [2]
Time to peak level (section 12.3)8 to 72 hours after a dose [1]About 24 hours (8 to 72) after a dose [2]
Steady state (section 12.3)After 4 weeks of weekly doses [1]After 4 weeks of weekly doses [2]
After the last dose (section 12.3)Not stated in the label [1]Not stated in the label [2]
Missed dose (section 2)Taken within 4 days (96 hours); after that, skipped (section 2.1) [1]Taken within 4 days (96 hours); after that, skipped (section 2.3) [2]
Section on switchingNone [1]None [2]

Moving between them, in either direction

Neither the Mounjaro® label nor the Zepbound® label sets out a schedule for moving from one to the other [1][2]. The timing facts above describe each medicine on its own; they are not a plan for a change. If a switch comes up, in whichever direction, the gap, the first dose of the new medicine and its steps are set by your prescriber.

Ozempic®, Wegovy®, Rybelsus®, Saxenda®, Victoza® and FlexTouch® are registered trademarks of Novo Nordisk A/S. Mounjaro®, Zepbound® and KwikPen® are registered trademarks owned or licensed by Eli Lilly and Company; Foundayo™ is a trademark of Eli Lilly and Company. PepLabo is not affiliated with or endorsed by these companies.

Questions

Why does the same drug have two names?

In the US, Eli Lilly markets tirzepatide under two brands with separate labels: Mounjaro® for type 2 diabetes and Zepbound® for weight reduction and sleep apnea. In the EU only the Mounjaro® name is authorised [3].

Does PepLabo know which brand I use?

Only what you enter. You name the program and set the schedule your prescriber gave you; PepLabo records each dose against it.

Set up your lab tonight.

It takes a few minutes. Pep will be waiting.